CM-Path Chairperson, Dr Karin Oien

Karin-Oien-photo-731x1024Karin is a Clinical Reader and Honorary Consultant in Pathology in the Institute of Cancer Sciences in the University of Glasgow. Karin is also an Honorary Consultant in Liver and Gastro-intestinal Pathology, based in the new Queen Elizabeth University Hospital.

‘I’m thrilled to be part of NCRI’s CM-Path initiative, which will bring inspiring colleagues, funders and partner organisations together to make a real difference in pathology research.

Together, we’ll work to reinvigorate UK academic pathology by building back capacity and expertise, to drive and support innovation’.

» Find out more about Karin here (Internal webpage)

CM-Path Executive Group

Work of the CM-Path initiative is overseen by an Executive Group, in order to maintain a strategic view and ensure delivery of its objectives. The Executive Group will ensure information-sharing and promote collaboration between Workstreams. It will seek opportunities to promote cellular molecular pathology, where appropriate, as a key component of oncology research.

Andy Hall picture

Professor Andy Hall, Deputy Chairperson


Professor Louise Jones, Workstream 1 Lead

Abeer Shaaban

Dr Abeer Shaaban, Workstream 2 Lead


Professor Gareth Thomas, Workstream 3 Lead

Clare Verrill New

Professor Clare Verrill, Workstream 4 Lead


Dr Bridget Wilkins, Royal College of Pathologists Representative


Professor Mark Arends, Pathological Society Representative

Dr Ian Lewis, NCRI Representative

RS sitting cropped

Dr Rowena Sharpe, CRUK, Funder Representative


Dr Raffaella Tate, Consumer Representative